Scholarships and Bursaries

1. Mahapola Scholarship

Mahapola Scholarships are awarded by the Mahapola Trust Fund and the number of scholarships to be awarded in a particular year is determined by the Fund. Monthly stipend is LKR 5,250.00.

2. University Bursary

All information regarding University Bursaries can be obtained from the Welfare Division of the University. Needy students should make an application and the University will select students according to criteria approved by the UGC. Monthly stipend is LKR 4,000.00.

3. "Tennyson & Vinitha Rodrigo Trust (TVR Trust)" Bursary

Awarded to four needy and enthusiastic Mechanical Engineering students from each intake. More information can be obtained from the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Monthly stipend is LKR 10,000.00 (for each student).

Tennyson & Vinitha Rodrigo Trust (TVR Trust)

Late Mr. Tennyson Rodrigo was a chemistry professional with vast national and international experience. He along with his wife, Late Mrs. Vinitha Rodrigo who was a teacher, have established a trust named the Tennyson & Vinitha Rodrigo Trust (TVR Trust) using their wealth. The objectives of the trust are to: Provide assistance for wellbeing-related research; Award annual scholarship to an outreach project; Lend assistance for the furtherance of classical music; Award scholarships to undergraduate students; Promote objective and critical thinking amongst the youth; Provide assistance to promote science and technology; Award of grants for humanitarian causes; Award of grants in collaboration with institutions for innovation; and Fund victims at times of calamities.

Falling in line with these objectives, twelve (four per each intake) scholarships are awarded annually to enthusiastic Mechanical Engineering students with financial difficulties to continue studies. The monthly stipend for each student is LKR 10,000.00. Further information regarding this scholarship scheme can be obtained from the President of the University of Moratuwa Mechanical Engineering Society (UMMES). The Department of Mechanical Engineering would like to wholeheartedly thank the TVR Trust for its benevolence and contributions made towards the promotion of science and technology for the betterment of humankind.

Following are the information regarding recipients of the scholarship.

  • 2020/2021 – 4 students each from Intakes 16, 17, and 18
  • 2021/2022 – 4 students each from Intakes 17, 18, and 19
  • 2022/2023 – 4 students each from Intakes 18, 19, and 20