The Faculty of Engineering is the largest faculty in the University of Moratuwa, comprising 12 academic departments with about 250 academic staff and around 4000 undergraduate and post-graduate students. The Faculty at present offers Bachelor of the Science of Engineering degree in 10 disciplines and Bachelor of Design degree in Fashion Design and Product Development.

Academic disciplines offered for the BSc Engineering degree include Chemical & Process Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science & Engineering, Earth Resource Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronic & Telecommunication Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Textile & Apparel Engineering and Transport Management & Logistic Engineering.

In addition, the Faculty offers many post-graduate courses and research degrees in various engineering and allied disciplines leading to Master of Science, Master of Engineering, Master of Philosophy, Master of Business Administration and Doctor of Philosophy.