About us

Postgraduate Studies Division (PGS division) in the Faculty of Architecture at University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka was set up under the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture for the administration of research degrees in the faculty. It is headed by the Director of the Postgraduate Studies (Director/PGS), who is also the Chairperson of the Board of Studies for Research Degrees of the Faculty of Architecture. The division is responsible for the promotion of postgraduate research and facilitation of research degree programmes (mainly MSc by research, MPhils and PhD degrees) from the stage of application to final examination.

Board of Studies for Research Degrees is a subcommittee of the Faculty Board of the Faculty of Architecture, which meets once a month to review matters relating to all postgraduate degree programmes and to make recommendations to the Faculty Board. It deals with matters such as postgraduate course curricula and syllabuses, selection of candidates, applications for registration, progress monitoring of research students and final examinations. The Board of Studies for Research Degrees generally comprises of Postgraduate Director (chairperson), Research Coordinators (RC) of each department and faculty nominees.

The Current members of the Board of Studies for Research Degrees are:

Dr. (Mrs.) Shaleeni Coorey  Director, Postgraduate Studies (Chairperson)
Dr .(Mrs.) Thanuja Ramachandra  Immediate Past Director, Postgraduate Studies 
Dr. (Ms.) Sachie Gunathilake   Research Corordinator, Dept. of Building Economics 
Dr. Shanaka Kariyawasam Research Corordinator, Dept. of Town & Country Planning 
Dr. (Mrs. Sumanthri Samarawickrama Research Corordinator, Department of Integrated Design 
Dr. (Mrs.) Wajishani Gamage Research Coordinator, Department of Architecture 
Dr. N.G.R. Perera  Faculty Nominee 
Dr. (Mrs.) Chandani Hadiwattege Faculty Nominee