Board of Studies

The Board of Studies is a subcommittee of the Faculty Board of the Faculty of Engineering, which reviews matters relating to postgraduate taught programmes and makes recommendations to the Faculty Board. It deals with matters such as postgraduate course curricula and syllabuses, selection of participants to postgraduate courses, applications for registration, postgraduate examinations and other matters related to the taught programmes.

The Director of Postgraduate Studies is the ex-officio Chairman of the Board of Studies.

The current members of the Board of Studies are:

Prof. L.W.P.R. Udayanga Chairman/ Director - Postgraduate Studies
Dr. (Ms.) M.M.I.D. Manthilake Convener/ CC* - Mechanical Engineering
Prof. P.G.R. Dharmarathna Faculty Representative
Prof. M.T.R. Jayasinghe Faculty Representative
Prof. N.P. Ratnayake Faculty Representative
Prof. E.A.S.K. Fernando CC* - Textile & Clothing Technology
Dr. (Ms.) J.V.U.P. Jayatunga CC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. W.D. Prasad CC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. A.G.B.P. Jayasekara CC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. S.K. Abeygunawardane CC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. Ravindra Wijesiriwardana CC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. C. Mallikarachchi CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. C.S.A. Siriwardana CC* Civil Engineering
Prof. J.M.A. Manatunga CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. (Ms.) A.S. Ranathunga CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. R.L.H.L. Rajapakse CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. G.L.D.I. De Silva CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. (Ms.) W.B. Gunawardana CC* Civil Engineering
Dr. M.P.A.P. Wijayasiri CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. G.I.U.S. Perera CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. C.D. Gamage CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. C.R. De Silva CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. H.M.C.D. Chitraranjan CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. G.A.K.P.R. Gunasekara CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. (Ms.) D.A. Meedeniya CC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. T.N. Samarasinghe CC* - Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering
Dr. C.U.S. Edussooriya CC* - Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering
Prof. T.S.G. Peiris CC* - Mathematics
Dr. P.M. Edirisinghe CC* - Mathematics
Mr. A.R. Dissanayake CC* - Mathematics
Dr. (Ms.) A.S. Galhenage CC* - Materials Science and Engineering
Mr. K.M.S. Senevirathne CC* - Management of Technology
Dr. I.D. Nissanka CC* - Mechanical Engineering
Dr. R.A.M.P. Ranaweera CC* - Mechanical Engineering
Dr. (Ms.) R.M.D.S. Gunarathne CC* - Chemical & Process Engineering
Prof. B.A.J.K. Premachandra CC* - Chemical & Process Engineering
Dr. L.C.I. Sigera CC* - Transport & Logistics Management

* CC - Course Coordinator

Members of the Board of Studies act as Course Coordinators for each of the departments in the faculty for coordinating the taught post graduate programmes.

The Board of Studies meet once a month regularly (normally 3rd Thursday of the month), and forwards its recommendations to the Dean/ Engineering for presentation to the Faculty Board.