News & Events

Prof. Sisil Kumarawadu appointed the Head/Department of Electrical Engineering

The Council of the University of Moratuwa appointed Prof. Sisil Kumarawadu to succeed Prof. Nalin Wickramarachchi as the Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering with effect from 7th of December 2017. The Department congratulates him on the new appointment and wish him a very successful career in the Department.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:18

Prof. Sisil Kumarawadu delivers a Keynote Speech at IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Computing, Instrumentation and Control Technologies held in Kannur, India

Prof. Sisil Kumarawadu delivered a keynote speech titled "Second-guessing: A Critical Attribute for Success in R&D in Engineering and Technology" at the IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Computing, Instrumentation and Control Technologies (IEEE ICICICT'17), that was held on 6th and 7th of July, 2017, in Kannur, India. Prabhir Biswas, IIT Kharagpur, Limsoon Wong, NUS, Singapore, M. Veerachary, IIT Delhi, Rogers Mathew,
IIT Kharagpur, also delivered keynote speeches at IEEE ICICICT'17.

Published on
2018/09/12 - 12:16

Dean of Faculty of Engineering

Prof. Nalin Wickramarachchi, Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering was elected as the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, at a special meeting of the Faculty Board of Engineering held on 07th December 2017. The post of Dean of the Faculty of Engineering fell vacant due to the appointment of Prof. Kapila Perera, to the post of Vice-chancellor, University of Moratuwa.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:19

Paper Presentation at IEEE ICRA 2018

A research paper titled  ‘’Enhancing Overall Object Placement by Understanding Uncertain Spatial and Qualitative Distance Information in User Commands’’  was presented at the 2018 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) held from May 21-25 in Brisbane, Australia, by Sachi Edirisinghe, a postgraduate research student in the Department of Electrical Engineering .

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:38


Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Moratuwa is organizing an international conference, “2018 Electrical Engineering Conference (EECon 2018)” for the second time, which will be on 28th September 2018 at the Kingsbury Hotel, Colombo. EECon 2018 is technically co-sponsored by the IEEE Sri Lanka Section, IEEE RAS Sri Lanka Chapter and IEEE PES Sri Lanka Chapter and is financially supported by the University of Moratuwa.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:36

We Are With You 2018

We Are With You is an event where the members of Electrical Engineering Society (EESoc) interact with differently abled students from the School for the Deaf in Ratmalana, and entertain them for a whole day. This event has a proud history of bringing together the members of EESoc for a worthy cause, and is an event that is immensely enjoyed by both members and differently abled students who take part in it.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:28

Guest Lecture - current status and future of Sri Lankan power system

Power system of a country is a broader aspect where whole country is benefited with. In order to knowledge up the future personals whom to vest the responsibility of country’s power system a guest lecture was held on 22nd of February 2018 at the Seminar Room, Department of Electrical engineering. The workshop was conducted by two engineers from Ceylon Electricity board, Dr. H.M. Wijeekoon Banda, Chief Engineer (Transmission Planning) and Mr. M.B.S. Samarasekara, Chief Engineer (Generation Planning)

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:27

EESoc AGM-2018

The Annual General Meeting of Electrical Engineering Society (EESoc) of University of Moratuwa was held for the 22nd consecutive time on 26th January 2018 from 4.30 pm onwards at Civil Auditorium. The occasion was illuminated with the presence of emeritus Prof. J.R.Lucas, Department Head Prof. Sisil Kumarawadu, other academic staff and undergraduates of Department of Electrical Engineering. Dr. Chandima Pathirana and Dr. Rasara Samarasinghe were elected as the president and Senior Treasurer respectively for the consecutive second year.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:22

Best Final Year Undergraduate Project 2018 - 13 Batch

The project titled “Development of a laboratory setup to teach Controller Area Network (CAN) protocol” has been selected by the Department as the best final year undergraduate project of 13 batch. The group members are S.K. Akmeemana, T.H. Indiketiya, P.K.P.G. Kumarasinghe, J.T.W.E. Liyanage and the project is supervised by Dr. Buddhika Jayasekara and Prof. Nalin Wickramarachchi.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:42

The Best Paper Award at MERCon 2018

The research paper “Modelling Transfer Function of Power Transformers Using Sweep Frequency Response Analysis” authored by KLIMPB Jayarathna, WEPS Ediriweera, R Samarasinghe and JR Lucas of the Department of Electrical Engineering was awarded the best paper award of “Power Systems, Electrical Machines and High Voltage Track” at the 4th International Moratuwa Engineering Research Conference (MERCon) 2018 held in May – June 2018 at the University of Moratuwa.

Published on
2018/07/17 - 10:44