The Faculty consists of thirteen departments and awards the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree. 

University of Moratuwa,  Faculty of Medicine is the only Faculty of Medicine of the country with a Department of Medical Technology offering a course in Medical Technology  which deviating from traditional methods tries to apply science to develop solutions to health problems or issues