Annual General Meeting of Research for Undergraduates (R4U) Club

The Annual General Meeting of the Research for Undergraduates (R4U) club of the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering (DCPE), University of Moratuwa, was held on October 31st, 2021, via Zoom online platform with the presence of club members and distinguished guests.

Qr code

Description automatically generated 

The welcome speech was presented by Mr. Lasan Manujitha, the incumbent vice president of the R4U club. Afterwards, the Minutes of the Previous AGM was presented by Ms. Bavatharny Thevarajah, the incumbent secretary, and the event summary for 2020/2021 was delivered. Prof. Shantha Walpalage, the Head of the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Moratuwa, addressed the audience. Prof. Jagath Premachandra, the senior adviser of the R4U Club, was then invited to share his thoughts about the club with the club members present. Next, the revised constitution of the R4U club was presented by the incumbent secretary.


The new executive committee and the editorial board for the upcoming year were appointed through a vote held among the club members. Next, Prof. P.G. Rathnasiri, the Undergraduate Research Coordinator of DCPE and Prof. Ajith de Alwis, Dean of Faculty of Graduate Studies, shared their thoughts regarding the importance of Research for the future career with the audience. The vote of thanks was delivered by Ms. Dilmi Ekanayake the newly appointed secretary, thanking all those who contributed to the success of the event, thereby concluding the Annual General Meeting of the R4U club.