Team SiRi of University of Moratuwa becomes the champions at the 2nd Regional Association of Energy and Power Universities (RAEP) Energy and Electricity Market Business Decision Simulation Competition 2020

The team (Team SiRi) represented by the University of Moratuwa became the champions at the 2nd Regional Association of Energy and Power Universities (RAEP) Energy and Electricity Market Business Decision Simulation Competition 2020 organized by the Shanghai University of Electric Power (SUEP), Shanghai, China. The competition was held online this year. The completion had several rounds. Opening ceremony of the competition was held on 30th September 2020.

University of Moratuwa Performance 1st Virtual Taekwondo National Championship Organized by Sri Lanka Taekwondo Federation. 08th to 10th August 2020

The University of Moratuwa won 17 awards at the "1st Virtual Taekwondo International Championships - 2020" held from 8th to 10th August 2020. The event was organized by the Sri Lanka Takewondo Federation.



The University of Moratuwa is delighted to announce of the appointment of former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa, Senior Professor Kapila C.K. Perera as the Secretary to the Ministry of Education who assumed duties in the new post on 17th August 2020. Prof. Kapila Perera obtained his first degree from the University of Moratuwa in 1986 and obtained his Masters and PhD from the University of California. University of Moratuwa owes many of its greatest achievements to Prof. Kapila Perera’s exemplary leadership and guidance, and thanks him for his outstanding service as a Senior Professor, a Dean and the Vice-Chancellor. Prof. Kapila Perera had been serving as the Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa from November 2017 to August 2020. Prior to being appointed as the Vice-Chancellor he served as the Dean of the Engineering Faculty and as the Director – Planning of the University. He had also worked as a lecturer on various subjects including Energy Technology and Environment, Fundamentals of Thermodynamics, Energy Sources and Technology and Heat Transfer Applications in Buildings for undergraduate courses and post graduate courses. The University staff and students take great pleasure in extending their sincere congratulation and sincere best wishes to Prof. Kapila Perera on his new appointment.

IMechE SOfE – 2020 country winner again from Moratuwa for the 3rd consecutive time

Shenal Theekshana, an undergraduate of the 17th batch of the Department of Mechanical Engineering won the Speak Our for Engineering (SOfE) national rounds held online on 08th August 2020. He spoke on the topic “Green Transportation for a Better Tomorrow” sharing his experience as a member of FalconE racing team of the Department.

Team MORA Phoenix won the ‘Equal Engineers and IMechE’ COVID19 Student Challenge

Team MORA Phoenix, a group of Mechanical Engineering undergraduates won the first place under the higher education category of ‘COVID19 Student Challenge’ organized by ‘EqualEngineers’ in partnership with IMechE,UK among over 100 unique entries across the world. Entries have been submitted from countries around

Asia Young Designer Award (Architecture Category) -2019/2020 -The best Design Impact Award (International level) & Gold Medal (National level)

Mr. MBCM Gawarammana of  Department of Architecture won both ‘The best Design Impact Award (International level)’ & ‘Gold Medal ( National level)’ at AYDA (Asia Young Designer Award Competition organized by NYPPON Paint for his final year Comprehensive Design Project, 2019, ‘Cultural and Industrial Exposure, Gem Promotional Center @ Rathnapura’.

Moratuwa Engineering Research Conference (MERCon) 2020

The 6th Moratuwa Engineering Research Conference (MERCon 2020), an international conference organized by the Engineering Research Unit (ERU), was successfully held as a virtual conference from 28th-30th July 2020. The program included 114 papers selected from 272. Double-blind review process is followed in the review process by the technical program committee (TPC) led by program chairs and track chairs including additional reviewers.