The Department of Mathematics was established as a fully-fledged department of the Institute of Practical Technology (IPT), which was founded in 1960. Initially the main function of the Department was to provide the necessary background for the technical personnel of sub-professional grades, who were following various full-time and part-time courses offered by the Institute.

As a result of the upgrading of specialized education and training in engineering studies, the idea of the Ceylon College of Technology (CCT) was conceived by the Ministry of Education. Hence in 1966, the CCT was established at Katubedda with a small number of local and foreign staff, under a UNESCO project. Then CCT and IPT got amalgamated and the resulting institute was again named as the Ceylon College of Technology(CCT). The first head of the department was Mr. P. Weerasinghe. Professor Funk and Prof. V. N. Rudoitchitch (expatriate UNESCO staff), assisted in conducting the courses in mathematics.

With the CCT gaining university status in 1972, as the Katubedda Campus of the University of Ceylon, the Mathematics Department became a service department of the University under the headship of  Dr. P. D. Gunatilake. The Department offered mathematics support for all the fields of  the Faculty of Engineering by conducting lectures, tutorials and giving project guidance.

In addition to teaching responsibilities within the University, the staff members also provided assistance in the capacities of consultants and visiting lecturers to other institutions such as the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka, University of Colombo and the Sir John Kotelawala Defense University. Prof. P.D. Gunatilake was a chief examiner for the GCE (Advanced Level) for many years.

In 1978, the Katubedda Campus of the University of Sri Lanka acquired the status of an independent University with the present name 'The University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka' and among the Vice-Chancellors who have been in office up to now, Prof. P.D. Gunatilake and Prof. G.T.F. de Silva were from the department of Mathematics. In addition, Prof. Gunathilake served as the Vice-Chancellor of the Open University of Sri Lanka from 1980 to 1985.

Former Heads of the Department 



Prof. P. D. Gunathilake (1972 -1978)



Prof. P. Weerasinghe (1978 - 1981)

De Silva


Prof. G. T. S. De Silva (1981 - 1988)



Dr. T. D. H. K. Fernando (1988 - 1994)




Prof. P. D. Gunathilake (1994 - 1996)



Dr. M. Indralingam (1996 - 2003)

Dr. Malhardeen


Dr. M. Z. M. Malhardeen (2003 - 2009)



Mr. T. M. J. A. Cooray (2009 - 2010)


Dr. Malhardeen


Dr. M. Z. M. Malhardeen (2010 - 2012)

Prof. Peiris


Prof. T. S. G. Peiris (2012 - 2018)



Mr. U. A. Senevirathne (2018 - 2021)