2nd International Conference on Electrical Engineering, EECon 2018

Published on
2018/11/09 - 13:00

The Department of Electrical Engineering organized International Conference on Electrical Engineering, EECon 2018 for the second time on 28th September 2018 at the Victorian of the Kingsbury Hotel, Colombo. The conference was graced with the presence of Vice Chancellor of University of Moratuwa, Prof. Kapila Perera and Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Prof. Nalin Wickramarachchi.

EECon aims to bring together researchers and engineers in the academia and the industry from different Engineering disciplines to a common forum to build a constructive dialog on state of the art technologies in electrical engineering. EECon 2018 solicited research papers describing significant and innovative research contributions to all fields of electrical engineering. Power Quality and Reliability, Power Systems Stability and Power Systems Control, Electrical Machines, Power Electronics and Control Drives, Renewable Energy Systems and Battery Technologies, Smart Technologies and Electric Transportation, Conventional Energy Technologies, Power Systems Economics, Control and Automation, Robotics and Intelligent Systems, and Electronics, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Vision and Signal Processing were the main focus areas of the conference.

This year, EECon received 54 papers and the after a thorough review process by both local and international reviewers, the program committee selected 30 papers to be included in the conference proceedings. The selected papers were presented under 4 main sessions; Electrical Machines, Power Electronics & Applications: Electrical Power Systems, Energy Systems & Smart Technologies: Robotics & Intelligent Systems: Wireless Power Transmission, Technology & Applications.

The keynote speech was done by Professor Nandini Gupta of Department of Electrical Engineering at IIT Kanpur in India, on the topic “Nano-dielectrics as Novel Insulation for Power Apparatus and Systems”. IEEE PES Distinguish Lecture Program on “Atmospheric Lightning: With Special Attention to Cloud to-Ground Flashes” was conducted by Professor Mohd Zainal Abidin Ab Kadir of Institute of Power Engineering (IPE) at University Tenaga National in Malaysia. A tutorial session on “Wireless Power Transmission” was conducted by Dr. Ranjith Liyanapathirana, a Senior Lecturer of School of Computing and Engineering and Mathematics at Western Sydney University in Australia and Dr. Robert Salama a Lecturer of Western Sydney University in Australia. 

EEcon 2018 was mainly sponsored by the University of Moratuwa & Asian Development Bank. All the authors, reviewers, sponsors and EESoc members have contributed to make the EECon 2018 a reality. The earnest efforts of the organizing team lead by Dr. DP Chandima and Dr. Narendra De Silva, has led the event for its supreme success. Program Chair: Prof.K.T.M.U.Hemapala, Program Co-Chair: Dr.Buddhika jayasekara, Publications Chair: Dr.Rasara Samarasinghe & Dr.Saranga Abeygunawardhena, Registration & Financial Chair: Dr.W.D.Prasad, Local Organizing Chair: Dr.Lindula Nilakshi and Dr. Thushara Rathnayaka played the major role in behind the event’s success.