History of the Faculty

In February 1972, with the establishment of the University of Ceylon incorporating all existing universities, including the College of Technology, as campuses of a single university, the well established Department of Architecture, which was under the Faculty of Natural Sciences and located in Ward Place, Colombo 07, was moved to Moratuwa as a department under the newly formed Faculty of Engineering and Architecture of the Katubedda Campus. In 1972, Ceylon became a Republic and the single University was re-named ‘University of Sri Lanka’. In 1978, under section 139(1) of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, the Katubedda Campus of the University of Sri Lanka acquired the status of an independent university under the name of ‘University of Moratuwa. Simultaneously, the Faculty of Architecture gained independent status affiliating the Department of Architecture and the newly formed Department of Town and Country Planning. Later in 1983, the Department of Building Economics was added to the Faculty. Significant change came into being with the commencement of the Department of Integrated Design in 2012.