Student Awards and Recognition-Department of Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Gold Medal donated by the Ceylon Electricity Board:

Awarded to the electronic and telecommunication engineering graduate who obtained the highest overall grade point average of 3.8 or above at the B.Sc. Engineering degree examinations.

Prof. O.P. Kulashethra Award:

For electrical engineering, or electronic and telecommunication engineering graduate who obtains the highest grade point average of 3.7 or above, computed by taking into consideration grades obtained for courses conducted by the electrical engineering, and electronics & telecommunication engineering departments in the B.Sc. Engineering degree course at level 2, 3, and 4.

Sri Lanka Telecom Scholarship:

For the B.Sc. level 4 student in electronic & telecommunication engineering who has obtained the highest grade point average of 3.7 or above considering all subjects offered at level 2 and 3.

Prof. K.K.Y.W. Perera Award:

Electronic & telecommunication engineering graduate who has obtained the highest grade point average of 3.7 or above considering all subjects offered at level 4.

Vidya Jyothi Professor Dayantha S Wijeyesekera Award:

Awarded for the most outstanding graduate of the year who is a versatile graduate of the University of Moratuwa of proven academic standing with a GPA exceeding 3.7 (or First Class honours); who is recognized as a leader and held in high esteem by other students; and has made a significant contribution through participation and service to the university and community.

Manamperi Award - Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science:

Awarded annually to the best undergraduate research engineering project carried out at a faculty of engineering in a Sri Lankan university. This award is open to students who have submitted their undergraduate engineering project to a Sri Lankan university within the academic year in consideration. A duly completed application along with a project report not exceeding 1500 words should be submitted to the SLAASby the students themselves who wish to qualify for this award.

Migara Ranatunga Trust Award:

This is awarded to the high achievers of level 3 industrial training module at the Annual sessions of IESL. The results of the evaluations done by the university training division will be submitted to the IESL, where a few undergraduates would be recognized as high achievers in the compulsory industrial training module in the engineering undergraduate program.

LSS Award:

LSS award is given to final year undergraduates specializing in Electronic & Telecommunication Engineering. ‘LSS’ stands for Leadership, Scholarship and Service. Exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus or community life, superior scholarship and intelligence, genuine fellowship, and loyalty to democratic ideals are indispensable qualifications for the LSS award. The award winners will belong to the ‘LSS honour Society’. Membership of the ‘LSS honour society’ will be a mark of highest distinction. Award winners are selected on the basis of merit. The award is sponsored by Millennium IT.