Archi SS Committee

The Architecture Student Society (Archi-SS) is a Departmental society initiated to strengthen the identity and community engagement of the Department of Architecture of University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka. Established in the year 2022, by the Chief Student Counsellor, Dr. Anishka Hettiarachchi, together with the guidance of the Head of the Department, Dr. Janaka Wijesundara, Archi-SS is a stepping stone in amplifying student’s voices and interaction of the five academic levels of the Department. The Society aims to provide opportunities for B.Arch students from all academic levels to engage in integrated and diversified socio-cultural and community initiatives, while developing much-needed leadership skills, soft skills, self-confidence, emotional intelligence, artistic skills and creativity. The proposed year plan constitutes of events notably in the areas of architecture awareness, charity, architectural publications, exhibitions and competitions. In addition, recreational activities will provide avenues for socio-cultural exposure and a sense of community for students to maintain a healthy balance between academic work, extra-curricular activities and personal commitments. Archi-SS is a platform that empowers and enables B.Arch students to gather as a community and embark on initiatives that provide an opportunity for them to engage with fellow students, academic and administrative staff, other schools of architecture and universities and professionals.   


Archi-SS Committee 2022/2023

From left to right:
Seated: Mr. Aruran Visuvanathan (Asst. Editor), Ms. Duneesha Ariyawansa (Asst. Secretary), Ms. Minoli Nushara (Secretary), Mr. Anjana Weerasuriya (President), Dr. Janaka Wijesundara (Head of Department), Dr. Anishka Hettiarachchi (Senior Treasurer/Advisor), Mr. Sumuditha Premachandra (Vice President), Mr. Aishwarya Tennekoon (Junior Treasurer), Mr. Lakal Piyarathna (Editor)

Standing: Committee members – Ms. Maheema Thalawatta (Level 2), Ms. Ishini Saubhagya (Level 1), Mr. Deshan Perera (Level 1), Mr. Ahmath Nusree (Level 2), Mr. Hasiru Chamika (Level 4), Ms. Harithra Navarathnam (Level 5), Mr. Amila Sri Muthukelum (Level 5), Mr. Anjana Gunawardena (Level 3), Ms. Bhagya Ranaweera (Level 3), Ms. Sewwandi Koonthota (Level 4)